Office Holiday Lunch

Since I do work for an agency that specialized in food and wine, we take all food-related outings VERY SERIOUSLY. I very gently pushed for our holiday lunch to be a fried chicken meal from Momofuku, David Chang’s restaurant empire of which I am a big fan.

Graciously, my office agreed. HOORAY. We set out on an icy cold trek towards the awaiting chickens…

CLEARLY, we needed to order apps. And not just any apps, David Chang’s Pork Buns…I think I have described them before but INDULGE ME. The softness of the bun itself can only be compared to the skin of a new-born baby. Ok fine…The butt of a new-born baby. I mean… it’s what it is! Inside are slices of pork belly (MMMMMMMM) and house made pickles. WOW DO NOT TALK TO ME WHILE I AM EATING THESE. Seriously.

Ahem…We also sampled the Korean rice cake dish, smothered in some kind of wildly good sauce.

And finally, THE CHICKEN. One classic fried chicken with Old Bay and one Korean fried chicken.

The waiter explained how to eat the chicken, in a lettuce wrap or asian pancake and smother it with sauces and herbs and vegetables and various ITEMS. This was not my first rodeo I was already reaching over people grabbing sauces and tearing burning hot chicken from the bones with my bare hands.

MY PLATE.

WOW. Gang, this is some seriously good fried chicken. Don’t think about comparing it with a classic place like Commodore or something…it’s a totally unique ASIAN FUSION experience that only Momofuku could create.

We actually didn’t finish all the chicken and brought some back to the office. The next day I valiantly attempted to eat the lunch pictured above (if you aren’t already gagging): raw kale, a veggie burger, and cucumbers. I was repulsed after two bites and abandoned it for a piece of cold fried chicken I desperately consumed in the exposing light of the office refrigerator.

One thought on “Office Holiday Lunch

  1. J

    “I was repulsed after two bites and abandoned it for a piece of cold fried chicken I desperately consumed in the exposing light of the office refrigerator.” CLASSIC

Leave a Reply

