A very “foodie” November night

I had the absolute honor of slipping in to the opening party for the holiday windows at Barneys last week. It was a stroke of luck that my boss couldn’t attend, and Prisca and I were all too happy to take the invitation.

This year, to mark the ever merging worlds of fashion and food, Simon Doonan’s holiday windows at Barneys were based on food celebrities. Food Network favorites like Paula Deen, Ina Garten, Rachael Ray along with great chefs like Thomas Keller, Daniel Boulud and more were all integrated into these decorative displays. Read more here.

There was a HUGE crowd outside Barney’s with a lot of photographers and what not. Already, I caught glimpses of Bobby Flay and Paula Deen. There was actually NO line to get in! (My first sign that this was a bigtime event)

Horribly blurry images of Tony Bourdain and Bobby Flay.

Trying to capture a moment between Mario and Emeril Lagasse (and failing…)

I won’t go on and on about how starstruck I was to see big shots from the industry – Bobby and Paula, Anthony Bourdain, Mario Batali, Emeril Lagasse, Jamie Oliver, Donatella Arpaia, Rocco DiSpirito, Wylie Dufresne, Michael White, Daniel Boulud, and many more! The room was filled with fabulously dressed desperate New Yorkers trying to get their piece of the action.

The food was actually quite good! Various canapes, meat carving station, pasta station and flowing champagne. Actually you could get any drink you wanted and it was only slightly crowded (had to elbow Rocco out of my way for my 2nd champagne)

I have to say, it really was a true thrill for me to literally be rubbing elbows with these people. It was a gorgeous event, though I have to say the Barneys windows themselves are pretty frightening.

Prisca and I grew tired of the hi-so crowd and skipped over to Ciano for a real bite of dinner (We felt awkward since we were pretty much the ONLY ONES eating. I guess if you are packed into Helmut Lang you don’t really want to be stuffing meatballs down your gullet, but I was good to go in my Gap outlet top…)

We went to Ciano, which is GETTING A LOT OF PRESS, for a drink and to split something. But delightfully, through a connection to the owner (*cough* Prisca), we were served a variety of incredible dishes.

 

Warm Calamari Salad with shaved fennel, frisee, olives & tomato-herb vinaigrette,

Really not happy that I don’t remember what this dish was, because it was INSANELY good. Brussels sprouts, truffles, scallops…something…

Basic bolognese over perfectly cooked pasta.

I was delirious and super full at this point, I just straight up have no clue what this is.

A great night that I bared paid a dime for. I mean, it had to be said. I am broke, people, cannot stress this enough. Just waiting for the bakeries to realize my presence in the blogsophere and inviting me to tasting events or…..IS..THIS THING ON??

4 thoughts on “A very “foodie” November night

Leave a Reply

