On location in Naples – Bennett’s

9 Sep

My parents now reside in Naples, Florida, in a wonderful house whose food personality is a FAR cry from my childhood Long Island home. I think I’ve touched on this before, the dried apples and unsalted almonds posing as snack foods, the time my mom decided we weren’t going to have dairy and there was no milk for weeks, sweet cereals on my birthday and christmas…I think you get the picture. (I’m THANKFUL for it, mother, believe me!!!!)

Things have changed. The house is full of chips and salsa and good cheeses and fresh baked muffins and artisanal pasta. My parents were always great cooks but now the cabinets are full. They have people from church over every friday and there are all sorts of bars and pies being made!! One night I was displeased with my ice cream choice and my mom told me there were chocolate chip cookies in the outside refrigerator. WHAT??? My head almost exploded. Outside refrigerator? I was there in 2 seconds flat and discovered other strange treasures like ICED TEA!!

The payment for all of this is a killer 8am pilates class….it’s not optional.

ALL THAT BEING SAID, my parents, being super supportive of my food blog career with a major in donuts, found an awesome place in Fort Myers called Bennett’s.

It is a super cute cafe that has a huge local following. They are especially famous for their donuts!

Me hopes my mother approved of me posting this picture!

 The owner makes the donuts fresh every morning.

Just lovely looking! Some amazing flavors like lemon curd and maple pecan, and I was very surprised to see that the bacon trend (which just will not die) made it all the way down there!

On our first round we got the maple pecan and bacon donuts. You can taste how fresh they are. They do have that fried taste, but in an intentional way. DELICIOUS! And I’m a fool for a wax paper covered basket.

Next we went with a glazed and oh…the donut next to it….a raspberry filled almond glazed donut. Friends, this was EVERYTHING a donut should be. A unique flavor combo executed PERFECTLY. The glaze was that good, sweet almond-y flavor that I adore and the jelly was the perfect blend of tart and sweet. One of the best donuts I’ve ever had. REALLY.

Bennett’s is a great little joint with excellent coffee and stand-out donuts. If you are in the area, I highly recommend.

Now, I did photograph our others meals there but they came out so sad looking, even though they were so delicious! So when I return for the holidays, I will be snapping nonstop pictures, so Pop, GET THOSE MUFFINS READY!

10 Responses to “On location in Naples – Bennett’s”

  1. Giavanna September 9, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    it’s rude that i never get a single mention on this frinkling blog

  2. leandralyon September 9, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    My sister Giavanna didn’t care for the donuts and almost waited in the car….

  3. leandralyon September 9, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    But she is very supportive of my blogging career!

    • cynthia September 9, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

      I never liked twins too much…
      but the time with youz both is my greatest delight…
      yes, we support all your food goals…

      pin-head and pin-shoulders too…g-wilikers

  4. Beth Ferront September 10, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Take my twins…. please!
    Another sleepless night after 5 years…when will it end?
    Or better yet, ship some snacks to me!

  5. Tina September 10, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    An interesting read, it makes me wanna taste. Sisters aren’t supposed to be mentioned much, but kindly in the background, believe me I know.

  6. Simone September 12, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    I’m sooooooo loving your food blog Leandra….especially love the fact that you finally blogged about Naples….fab pic of Cyn yes only her head….where’s Rudy I hear the poor thing is still with us…..keep on keeping on with all these sweet treats…
    Oh yes….Giavanna helloooooo dahling….see someone mentions u babe…

    • Giavanna September 16, 2010 at 1:38 am #

      hahah oh Simone what terrible timing! We must have posted at the same time. I meant that as a response to what Leandra said, exposing me for pouting and sitting in the car. Thank you for yourrrrrr mention and HHAHA yes Rudi is still with us, we’re not sure how….
      When are you coming to visit Naples with us and Cyn and her ailments???

      miss you!!!

  7. Giavanna September 13, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    wow, that’s the mention? rude

  8. Frank October 8, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    Today cakespy tomorrow the World

    Love

    Pop

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

